Public Lands Foundation

Search Bar



PLF’s 2018 Annual Meeting was held in Billings, Montana between September 11-14.

The theme of the meeting was “Access to Public Lands.” The meeting included a field trip conducted by the Bureau of Land Management’s Billings Field Office, and a general meeting with multiple speakers. In addition, PLF held its traditional banquet dinner and awards ceremony. The Board of Directors also conducted strategic planning and business meetings during the week.

Images from the general meeting appear below. Click here to view the field trip images.


2018 PLF Annual Meeting Group Photo Front row kneeling, L to R: Bob Conquergood, Dave Mari & Ed Shepard (PLF President) Front row standing, L to R: Mike Penfold, Bob Moore, Maggie Wyatt, Sylvia Gerber Bruce, Jo Campbell Berreth, Janice Kwiatkowski, Linda Hofman, Deanna LeBarron, Jane O’Connor, Hank Nolden, Charles Switzer, Dean Bibles, Dixie Bibles, Gary Thrash, George Stone. Back row standing, L to R: Eric Janes, Tom Allen, Pete Culp, Michael Seaman, David Stout, Rich Whitley (partly hidden), John Kwiatkowski, Larry Larsen, Bill LeBarron, Smokey O’Connor, Phil Moreland, Jim Binando, Don Simpson, Rosemary Thomas (partly hidden), Dwight Hempel (partially hidden), Judi Hempel (partially hidden), Jeff Middaugh, Richard Hopkins, Beau McClure.

Evening Speaker

Our annual barbecue was held on Wednesday evening. Afterward, participants came inside for a special presentation by Hal Stearns, historian from Humanities Montana.

Hal Stearns presented a history of homesteading in the plains states.
Hal Stearns’ presentation.

General Meeting

PLF President Ed Shepard kicks off the General Session.
PLF had great attendance at its annual meeting!


Listed in alphabetical order.

Banquet and Silent Auction

Historical framed images up for bid!
Some of the items put up for bid.
Arlene Mari calls out the auction item winners!
Smokey O’Conner reminices about his extensive BLM career. Click on the image to watch the full video.


PLF Awards

PLF’s Volunteer of the Year Award for 2018 goes to Don Simpson, one of our Vice-Presidents. Ed Shepard (L) and Don Simpson (R).
Pete Culp is presented with PLF’s Lifetime Service Award. L-R: Ed Shepard, Pete Culp, Beau McClure.
Tom Allen is presented with PLF’s Lifetime Service Award. L-R: Ed Shepard, Tom Allen, Beau McClure.